A Region on the Rise

Growth Area Frankfurt (Oder)/Eisenhüttenstadt

“The growth area of Frankfurt (Oder)/ Eisenhüttenstadt is a strong economic base in East Brandenburg. It combines scientific expertise with the strengths of a traditional, yet modern industrial site. The European University Viadrina and the IHP Leibniz Institute for Innovative Microelectronics contribute to the regions attractiveness for national and international professionals. Also international running is the composition of the industry on site – such as the global players ArcelorMittal in Eisenhüttenstadt and Astronergy in Frankfurt (Oder). Geographically positioned between Berlin and Poland, the region builds bridges between East and West. The growth area Frankfurt (Oder)/ Eisenhüttenstadt offers excellent conditions for companies and a high quality of living, working and recreational activities.”

Albrecht Gerber, Minister of Economic and Energy Affairs of the State of Brandenburg

Back in 2004, the State of Brandenburg started realigning its development policy, both in terms of industry sectors and regions. Using the motto “Strengthening strengths”, 15 regional growth areas were identified and, based on analyses of their economic structure, industry competence areas were defined that had undergone dynamic growth over the previous few years and had ample growth potential for the future. The state government’s aim in doing this was to increase the spatial concentration of its development programs in order to utilise these more efficiently. Regional growth areas are intended to act as motors for their region and radiate their success to the surrounding area.

Together, the city of Frankfurt (Oder) and the city of Eisenhuettenstadt form one of these growth areas. Both cities are part of the German Capital Region Berlin-Brandenburg and located in the east of Brandenburg, directly alongside the River Oder, Germany’s border with Poland. Frankfurt (Oder) and Eisenhuettenstadt are the economic centres of East Brandenburg and, due to their industry clusters, are shaping the industrial and social profile of the entire region. Areas of competence include:

Further industry competences exist in the areas of energy/environmental technology and tourism and are currently arising in the healthcare sector and paper industry.

Start

Eine Region im Aufwind

Wachstumskern Frankfurt (Oder)/Eisenhüttenstadt


„Der Regionale Wachstumskern Frankfurt (Oder)/Eisenhüttenstadt ist ein starker Wirtschaftsstandort im Osten Brandenburgs. Er verbindet wissenschaftliche Kompetenz mit den Stärken eines traditionsreichen und zugleich modernen Industriestandorts. Die Europa-Universität Viadrina und das IHP Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik tragen dazu bei, dass der Wachstumskern nationale und internationale Fachkräfte anzieht. International aufgestellt ist auch die Industrie – wie beispielsweise die weltweit agierenden Unternehmen ArcelorMittal und Astronergy. Als Standort zwischen Berlin und Polen baut der Wachstumskern Brücken zwischen West und Ost. Der RWK Frankfurt (Oder)/Eisenhüttenstadt bietet hervorragende  Bedingungen für Unternehmen sowie hohe Wohn-, Arbeits- & Freizeitqualität.

Albrecht Gerber, Minister für Wirtschaft und Energie des Landes Brandenburg

Das Land Brandenburg hat im Jahr 2004 damit begonnen, seine Förderpolitik sektoral und regional neu auszurichten. Unter dem Motto „Stärken stärken“ wurden 15 sogenannte Regionale Wachstumskerne (RWK) ausgewiesen und basierend auf Analysen zur Wirtschaftsstruktur, Branchenkompetenzfelder definiert, die sich in den letzten Jahren dynamisch entwickelt haben und große Wachstumspotenziale für die Zukunft ausweisen. Ziel der Landesregierung ist eine stärkere räumliche Konzentration ihrer Förderprogramme um diese effizienter einzusetzen. Die Wachstumskerne sollen eine Motorfunktion für ihre Region übernehmen und auf ihr Umland ausstrahlen.

Die Städte Frankfurt (Oder) und Eisenhüttenstadt bilden seit dem Jahr 2005 einen gemeinsamen Regionalen Wachstumskern (RWK). Der RWK Frankfurt (Oder)/Eisenhüttenstadt ist Teil der deutschen Hauptstadtregion Berlin-Brandenburg und befindet sich im Osten Brandenburgs, in unmittelbarer Grenzlage zu Polen. Frankfurt (Oder) und Eisenhüttenstadt bilden den gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Kern in Ostbrandenburg und prägen durch ansässige Unternehmen vor Ort das Profil der gesamten Region in den folgenden Branchen:

Zusätzliche Branchenkompetenzen bestehen in der Papierindustrie und im Tourismus. Zusätzlich werden aktuell die Potentiale der Region in der Gesundheitswirtschaft definiert.