en_tab_bildungThe Berlin-Brandenburg capital region contains the highest density of universities and research institutes in Germany, with more than 200,000 students attending 7 universities and 19 universities of applied sciences. A third of these study engineering or natural sciences. Companies in the German capital region of Berlin-Brandenburg have access to 300 research institutes. These include the Fraunhofer Group, the Max-Planck Society, the Helmholtz Association and the Leibniz Association. Research and development projects learn special attention in the State of Brandenburg. Cooperation between industry and research institutes are supported with high subsidies.

de_foto_prof_dr_woellThe European University Viadrina is undoubtedly one of the beacons of the European university setup. The institution with a 500 year history was re-established in 1991. Today it is lyceum of more than 6,000 students coming from more than 90 countries from all over the world. Internationalism is a top priority at Viadrina University. Its faculties of Cultural Studies, Law and Economics focus on providing an education that is interdisciplinary and internationally orientated. As well as the historical main building, the university campus also comprises ultramodern teaching facilities in the Auditorium Maximum and the Gräfin-Dönhoff building. “Viadukt”, the annual recruitment and training fair, brings together international companies and students. This is where future careers and potential partnerships are launched and initiated. A lot of creative minds are studying at the Viadrina University. They are accompanied and supported by the universities own business incubator. Many young start-ups have already been founded here. In several national and international competitions, the university was placed among the top medium-sized universities and has been awarded for its great start-up environment. Therefore, the university is an integral part of the region that accommodates many international companies.

de_foto_ihpThe IHP – Innovations for High Performance Microelectronics conducts At IHP – Innovations for High Performance Microelectronics more than 300 employees from 20 countries are working on one common goal: the development of innovations. IHP conducts research and development of silicon-based systems and ultra high-frequency circuits and technologies including new materials. It develops innovative solutions for application areas such as wireless and broadband communication, security, medical technology, industry 4.0, automotive industry, and aerospace. The institute has become an internationally recognized competence center for silicon/germanium technologies. One particular strength of the IHP is the development of prototypes and small series on its pilot line using high performance SiGe-BiCMOS technologies. The IHP bridges the gap between universities and industry e.g. through creating Joint Labs with universities in the region Berlin- Brandenburg. The new building was established in the Technology Park Ostbrandenburg in 1999 and comprises more than 6000 m² of research usable surface area as well as a 1,000 m² category class 1 clean room including an own pilot-line. In 2013 a new annex building containing space for 70 additional workstations.

In der Hauptstadtregion Berlin-Brandenburg gibt es die höchste Dichte an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland. Rund 200.000 Studenten werden an 7 Universitäten und 19 Fachhochschulen ausgebildet. Ein Drittel von ihnen studiert Ingenieur- oder Naturwissenschaften. Unternehmen in der Hauptstadtregion haben Zugang zu mehr als 300 Forschungsinstituten, unter ihnen Einrichtungen der Fraunhofer Gruppe, der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, der Helmholtz- und Leibniz-Gemeinschaften. Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte erfahren im Land Brandenburg eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Kooperationen zwischen Industrie und Forschung werden mit hohen Zuschüssen unterstützt.

de_foto_prof_dr_woellDie Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) gehört zu den Leuchttürmen in der europäischen Universitätenlandschaft. Die 1991 wiedergegründete Universität mit über 500-jähriger Tradition, ist Lehrstätte für über 6.000 Studierende aus mehr als 90 Ländern. Internationalität wird an der Viadrina groß geschrieben. Der Schwerpunkt in den Fakultäten für Kulturwissenschaften, Rechtswissenschaften und Wirtschaftswissenschaften liegt in einem interdisziplinären und international ausgerichtetem Studium. Neben den historischen Unigebäuden Logenhaus, Post- und Hauptgebäude verfügt der Campus mit dem Auditorium Maximum und dem Gräfin-Dönhoff-Gebäude über hochmoderne Lehreinrichtungen. Die regelmäßig stattfindende Job- und Praktikumsmesse „Viadukt“ bringt internationale Unternehmen und Studierende zusammen. Hier werden Karrieren gestartet und Partnerschaften für die Zukunft initiiert. An der Viadrina studieren viele kreative Köpfe – unterstützt von einem eigenen Gründungszentrum werden hier besonders viele junge Start-ups gegründet. Deutschlandweit belegte die Europa-Universität den 2. Platz im jüngsten Gründungsradar des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft unter den mittelgroßen Hochschulen. Die Universität ist integraler Bestandteil der Region, in der viele internationale Firmen heimisch geworden sind.

de_foto_ihpAm IHP – Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik arbeiten über 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 20 Ländern an einem gemeinsamen Ziel: Der Entwicklung von Innovationen. Dabei erforschen und entwickeln sie am IHP siliziumbasierte Systeme, Höchstfrequenz-Schaltungen und Technologien einschließlich neuer Materialien. Die Anwendungen dafür liegen in den Bereichen drahtlose und Breitbandkommunikation, Sicherheit, Medizintechnik, Industrie 4.0, Mobilität und Raumfahrt. Das Institut hat sich zu einem international anerkannten Kompetenzzentrum für Silizium-Germanium-Technologien entwickelt. Eine besondere Stärke des IHP ist die Realisierung von Prototypen und Kleinserien mit den schnellen SiGe-BiCMOS-Technologien in seiner Pilotlinie. Das IHP übt eine wichtige Brückenfunktion zwischen den Hochschulen und der Industrie, z. B. im Rahmen von „Joint Labs“ mit Universitäten und Fachhochschulen aus der Region Berlin-Brandenburg, aus. Das 1999 im Technologiepark Ostbrandenburg neu errichtete Institutsgebäude des IHP verfügt über 6.000 m² Nutzfläche sowie über einen 1.000 m² großen Reinraum der Klasse 1 (Vordergrund) inkl. durchgängigen Pilotlinie. 2013 erhielt das IHP einen Anbau für 74 neue Forschungsarbeitsplätze.